The Sony PRS-700 Reader with Touchscreen

Posted by

prs-700_front_open_f_lg
While its not quite yet a Kindle-killer, Sony's new reader is a step closer to giving Amazon's reader a run for its money.  The Sony PRS-700 is a touchscreen reader that allows page turning with the quick flip of a stylus.  The PRS-700 also includes a pull-up keyboard on the screen, ideal for taking notes and searching through text.  Beyond that, the 700 model is pretty close to Sony's last...

GearCrave Giveaway: Rough Guide to Video Games (x5)

Posted by

vg_final_rgb
If you haven't yet heard of Rough Guides, you're not alone.  Having long ago reached critical mass in the UK, Rough Guides began as travel guides that were targeted at the informed traveler, not to students or high brow culturalists.  In the 80s, the BBC picked up Rough Guides to develop a TV show, providing no nonsense introductions to subjects which had been poorly represented in the...

Diesel Lionfish Travel Bag

Posted by

45111263d2_zm1_1
This travel bag circumvents the "murse category" yet again, and we're very happy about that. Instead of toting around something glossy and leather on the weekends, consider this statement bag with an oversized Diesel logo in black-on-black. Sporty detailing make this bag perfect for the gym or a weekend break: it's cool without being flashy, and slick without being overtly...

Option-G It's A Maze "Ing" Tee

Posted by

ing2
Super-casual Fridays just got a lot wittier with this 100% cotton, American-made tee in either olive green or asphalt grey. Keen on keeping your "Funny Guy at Work" rep fresh? Now all it takes is a cup of coffee and a dash of Option-G in the morning. Slim-fit for a more flattering shape and perfect with jeans. Buy: $25

The Modern Architecture Pop-Up Book

Posted by

modern-architecture-pop-up-cover
Update-- Rizzoli USA, the publisher of the Modern Architecture Pop-Up Book is giving away one free copy of this book to a GearCrave reader who comments on this article. Learn more after the jump below! There are architecture books, and then there is the Modern Architecture Pop-Up Book. If you'd like to add a third dimension to your own architectural experience (and...

Wednesday BookCrave: Film Posters of the 1960s

Posted by

film-posters-of-the-60s_book_msp
Film posters say a lot about a culture. If you were to line up the archives of film posters from the silent films of the 20s to the latest box office blockbusters, you'd have a pretty telling cultural timeline.  Focusing on one of the greatest decades in film, editors Marsh and Nourmand compiled this book, the Film Posters of the 1960s: The Essential Movies of the Decade.  Film buffs...

Studio Olafur Eliasson: An Encyclopedia of Sculpture

Posted by

cover_xl_eliasson_0803191359_id_24430
This extra-large illustrated book includes 500 pages of some of the most mind-blowing installations, photographs, sculptures, and architectural projects you'll have seen to date. These are the projects and installations from the mind of Icelandic artist Olafur Eliasson.  Now living and working in Berlin and Copenhagen, Eliasson has a long body of quite incredible selected works.  His latest...

Wednesday BookCrave: Bobby Flay's "Grill It"

Posted by

bobby-flay-grill-it_msp
Food Network fanatics will recognize Bobby Flay in an instant. You've seen him on Hot Off the Grill, Grillin & Chillin, Foodnation, Boy Meets Grill, BBQ, Throwdown and last, Grill It with Bobby Flay. While we prefer our good buddy Anthony Bourdain, you can't beat Bobby Flay when it comes to grilling. If grilling is a hobby or an obsession for you, prepare yourself to learn the secrets and...

Fixed Magazine

Posted by

fixed-mag_msp_07032008
Gears are for pussies.  While you're shifting up three gears from standing start to top speed, I'm already 50 feet ahead of you.  One turn of the crank on my bike, and you're in my dust.  Why?  I've only got one speed-- fast.  This Fixed Fenomenon is growing by every turn of that single-speed crank.  It is cycling at its purest, it is performance at its best, and counter car...

Wednesday BookCrave: Anthony Bourdain's No Reservations

Posted by

51qelb3usul_ss500_
Those of us who love cooking, traveling and attitude have a strong respect for Mr. Anthony Bourdain. If you've seen Bourdain's show "No Reservations" on the Travel Channel, you've experienced the perspective of a man who was born in the hot kitchens of Jersey and has lived to tell about it. On "No Reservations", Anthony Bourdain travels across the globe experiencing cuisine and culture,...

Playboy Cover to Cover: the 1950s Complete Digital Archive

Posted by

playboy-cover-to-cover_msp_06252008
Playboy used stand for something different than it does now. To put it as short as we can, Playboy used to stand for something. What started as a liberating men's lifestyle magazine with classic, sexy pinups has become nothing but a salute to silicone, blonde hair dye and developments in pubic hair styling. Take a peek into Playboy's golden age with the Playboy Cover to Cover: the...

Wednesday BookCrave: American Photobooth by Nakki Goranin

Posted by

american-photobooth_msp
The curtain closes, the flash bursts and the best parts of humanity-- our humor, love, beauty and flirtation are captured in black-and-white.  Vermont-based artist and photographer Nakki Goranin has documented this telling perspective on American life in "American Photobooth".  Goranin's book includes over 200 stunning photographs from the earliest days of the photobooth to last Friday in your...

Phone Sex: The Book

Posted by

phone-sex-the-book_msp
Phil Toledano's "Phone Sex: The Book" is a graphical exploration into the men and women behind the phone sex industry. Toledano interviewed and photographed thirty phone sex operators, peering into their lives and capturing the innocence behind something perceived as little more than smut. Toledano explains, "the caller agrees to pretend that he (or she) is calling a young,...

Wednesday BookCrave: Abandoned Places

Posted by

abandoned-places_msp_06042008
(image courtesy: elRojo) There is something immensely powerful about the aesthetic of "urban decay". Growing up outside of Detroit, your GearCrave editor knows this quality all too well. In a city that progress forgot, the fingerprints of a long-dead industrial revolution are everywhere. Factories, schools, office buildings and more are abandoned-- much like their prior inhabitants. Where...

"When You Are Engulfed in Flames" by David Sedaris

Posted by

david-sedaris-engulfed-in-flames_msp
Quitting smoking is hard enough… especially when it’s part of your shtick. When You Are Engulfed in Flames is a humor-packed collection of personal essays the likes only David Sedaris can deliver, complete with his struggle to put a stop to his trademark habit. Follow Sedaris as he relieves painful but pivotal moments of his rearing — his rural upbringing in the...

Wednesday BookCrave: The New James Bond, "Devil May Care"

Posted by

devil-may-care_wednesday-bookcrave_msp
If you've ever wondered how the James Bond legacy has become so historic, so influential-- look to the source of James Bond himself. The imagination of author Ian Fleming has birthed 36 James Bond novels and 22 films. The latest in the James Bond experience hit store shelves today: Devil May Care, by Sebastian Faulks as Ian Fleming.  Faulks' homage to Fleming features all the classic elements...

Wednesday BookCrave: American Photobooth

Posted by

american-photobooth_msp_05142008
Scattered across the American landscape in the happiest of places, the photobooth has an interesting place in our culture. Where Americans play, drink, smile and flirt, the photobooth is there. From carnivals to pubs to vacation hotspots, a photobooth is waiting to capture our happiness and store it on a row of black-and-white film. Author Nakki Goranin documented this American cultural...

"Do Travel Writers Go to Hell?" by Thomas Kohnstamm

Posted by

kohnstamm
Having never been to Brazil, Thomas Kohnstamm started doing his research. He was, after all, a travel writer, and a seasoned one at that. Kohnstamm is one of the select few that get to traipse the earth in search of cool, interesting and fun things and get paid about it. With a dream job like that, what gives? Do All Travel Writers Go to Hell? acts not as a guide book or a hip...

Wednesday BookCrave: "Snuff" by Chuck Palahniuk

Posted by

chuck-snuff_msp_05072008
Fans of Fight Club and Choke know how deliciously bizarre Chuck Palahniuk's stories can be. Not one to let down his rabid fanbase, Palahniuk has gone and outdone himself yet again. Snuff chronicles a baggy pornstar's epic fall into the record books as she tries to do the deed with 600 men on film in single day. Instead of detailing her rotten play-by-play narrative,...

The Zombie Survival Guide

Posted by

zombie-survival-guide_msp_05022008_print
(image courtesy: laughing squid) As the great Method Man once said, "Protect Ya Neck". In this case, it might be a case of protecting ya "brains"-- but we'll keep the quote. We have one question for our GearCrave readers: are you truly prepared for a Zombie attack? What would happen if a new engineered virus were to break loose tomorrow and you were to be faced with an army of brain-hungry...